recipe: pumpkin pancakes

Okay there’s really no reason for this post because all the info is basically back here in my original pancakes kapow recipe (see variations at the bottom of that post). But. But. These are so goooood, they need more attention than a footnote. Even though I can’t even eat these right now, you should. Somebody should. Unless you’re all pumpkin’d out after T-Day, in which case, save this for next fall.

Who am I even kidding, sick of pumpkin… You’re gonna want to eat these every weekend.* Or even every day? How are they so good as leftovers, cold with nothing on them?? HOW?

Ingredients

  • 1/2 c. white flour
  • 1/2 c. white whole wheat flour
  • 2 T. wheat germ**
  • 2 T. flax seed meal
  • 1 tsp. baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp. baking soda
  • 1/4 – 1/2 tsp. pumpkin pie spices (more or less depending on your taste)
  • 1/4 tsp. salt
  • 1 T. maple syrup
  • 1 egg
  • 1 1/4 c. almond milk (if you need to be dairy free; otherwise regular milk is good, or a combo of yogurt/milk/water/whatever you like)
  • 1/2 c. pumpkin puree
  • 2 T. vegetable oil (sometimes I just do 1 or 1.5 and it’s fine)
  • 1/4 – 1/2 tsp. vanilla

Sift flour (and if your baking powder is clumping like mine always does, sift that too, or grind it back to fine powder with mortar and pestle, otherwise it won’t work properly (hat tip: sister Sarah)), then wisk together with other dry ingredients.

In a separate (large) bowl, beat egg. Add all other wet ingredients and wisk to mix. Add dry ingredients to wet and stir until combined, but don’t overdo it. If it’s too thick, add a bit more milk.

If you have time, let the batter rest a bit before making pancakes. These actually make a much nicer evenly brown colored pancake but I didn’t get any pictures of the prettiest ones.

Makes enough for 2 people plus maybe a couple extra pancakes. I doubled it to feed 3 people and had way too many, but seriously these are so good cold, you won’t mind having leftovers.

*I know I know, there are those of you that actually hate pumpkin! still shocks me. but I think you could sub a different pureed squash and it would still work. zucchini pancakes? anyone?

**you can reduce the amount of flour by this amount or just add it on top; may need more milk to compensate if you don’t reduce flour amount.

This entry was posted in breakfast, Recipes. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to recipe: pumpkin pancakes

  1. Kelsey says:

    Looks delicious! I can eat pumpkin all year long, love it!

  2. Marnie Tao says:

    Yay!! Have an extra can of pumpkin in my cupboard that’s calling out to me. Sounds like the perfect Saturday breakfast to meeee!

    btw, you know I’m constantly checking my reader and the last several weeks I’ve been like, where’s bananas? Then I just thought I’d pop over to see and BAM like 5 entries! Happy face!

Leave a Reply

