holiday cheer time

I love December. I don’t love being cold all the time, but I do love sparkly lights and christmas trees and ornaments and the spirit of giving and the excuse to wear goofy blinking reindeer antlers.

Also, White Christmas. Kind of my favorite thing ever.

Of the multiple parallels between my family and Zach’s (we’re both the youngest of three children, he has only brothers, I have only sisters, etc), we both grew up watching White Christmas as one of the main holiday movies over the years. Now we get to watch it together with our combined families (well my mom plus a lot of Porters) on Thanksgiving. And we get to do this puzzle whenever we want.

It is ALSO a tradition with my friend Amber, to watch it together sometime in December. Yes that means for the past few years we’ve seen it twice in the span of a few weeks. I don’t even care, I love it that much. And THIS YEAR. This year. Amber decided to give us a belated wedding gift of taking us to see White Christmas, performed live in a local dinner theater. !!!

They changed a few things for the stage production, and in a few cases I seriously question their judgment, but overall the show was a hoot, and dinner was awesome. And it was that much more awesome because we got to see it with Amber and her dood, and she even went out of her way to make sure they had a meal and dessert for me that were gluten and dairy free. I’m a little verklempt still thinking about the thoughtfulness of this gift!!

This is really shaping up to be the best christmas season evar. We’ve got our place all decked out, I’ve got a sister coming to visit next week, Zach’s going to graduate and become licensed to Teach, and then we’re going to VEGAS. And then there’s you know, Christmas. If we can handle it, we might even get to Maine before the end of the year. And THEN my friend Beth is getting Married! I am pumped.

This entry was posted in holiday awesome. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to holiday cheer time

  1. craftosaurus says:

    Wow, that a lot of awesomeness! Huzzah!

  2. Jo says:

    I love your tree! And you guys are ADORABLE.

    Hooray Zach!!!!! And Vegas!!!!

    <3

  3. pinchofthis says:

    What a sweet gift!!

    Christmas! Do you have snow?! I fear we will never get snow and our Christmas will be brown. (remind me that I just said this in March…)

    • d-day says:

      we have no snow. we often don’t get snow here in any quantity until after the holidays, or if we do get snow, it’s not that much and melts quickly. but then every once in a while we have a great big snowpocalypse, so I have given up trying to predict the weather around here.

  4. lizzie says:

    you’re freakin’ cute.
    our christmas is rainy and gloomy and pooey.

  5. Kimberly says:

    That is a fantastic gift. Also. PUZZLES!!

  6. liz says:

    how do you manage to still be smokin hot when you’re wearing FELT REINDEER ANTLERS?

    gah.

    jerkface.

Leave a Reply

