recipe: flourless peanut butter cookies

Yep, food again. But this is glorifying what I can eat instead of whining. Progress! :)

I adapted this from a recipe I found SOMEwhere. Sorry cannot remember the series of links I followed to find this, no credit for youuuu mysterious gluten-free cookie baker.

Ingredients

  • 1 c. natural creamy peanut butter (recommend Trader Joe’s for cheapest natural pb)
  • 3/4 c. sugar
  • a few tablespoons sugar in the raw, or regular white sugar
  • 1 tsp. baking powder
  • 1 egg

Preheat oven to 350.

Blend together peanut butter and 3/4 c. sugar; beat in baking powder, then mix in egg until well combined (I don’t use blend/beat/mix terms in a technical way – I did this all by hand with no real distinction between stirring/beating/mixing. Hand mixers/kitchenaids not necessary).

Roll into dough balls with your hands, then either dip or roll in sugar (depending on how much extra sugar you want on the outside), and place on a cookie sheet lined with parchment paper. Gently press dough balls with a fork.

Bake ~10 minutes. Allow to rest on cookie sheet for a couple minutes, then move to rack to cool. Makes about 30 small cookies (if you’re interested: approximately 75 calories per cookie, according to the SparkPeople recipe calculator).

Note: I originally tried making a half batch with chunky natural pb and brown sugar.. did not work! the flavor/texture turned out okay but the dough was basically soup (m-e-s-s-y). kind of miraculous that they formed up into actual cookies. If you want to try subbing in different things like agave or honey or something, let me know how it goes!

This entry was posted in baking, gluten free, Recipes. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to recipe: flourless peanut butter cookies

  1. pinchofthis says:

    look at you! killing this dairy/gluten free thing. These look yummy. And like they’re the perfect size for popping in your mouth while still warm. mmm..

    also – have you seen this recipe? http://www.joythebaker.com/blog/2010/06/flourless-peanut-butter-and-jelly-cookies/ super delish.

    Also..I still owe you coconut flour recipes. I keep making stuff and thinking that I need to send it to you and then realizing that those things have dairy in them. But I do have recipes for you.

    • d-day says:

      hahah aww thanks! I will find out soon if I need to continue to stay off dairy. or even if it’s a gluten thing at all, this all may be moot! when I know for sure I’ll prob start hounding you for coconut flour recipes. :)

      thanks for the link! I’m obsessed with pb&j, those sound amazing. and yes these little guys are awesome still warm out of the oven. made myself sick eating too many of them this weekend! ;)

  2. Becky says:

    Huh, so they’re mostly just peanut butter with a bunch of sugar added? That sounds dangerously delicious.

    • d-day says:

      plus an egg! so that’s a little better? haha. but yeah, dangerous. the original recipe called for a whole cup of sugar, i decided to be “good” and cut it down to 3/4. haha.

  3. Marnie Tao says:

    Ooh, ooh, ooh!! Those look great! They instantly reminded me of this no-bake PB cookie recipe: http://www.eatingwell.com/recipes/no_bake_cookies.html which I was all excited to send you, but then realized it uses graham cracker crumbs. =( BUT I bet you could use some kind of almond meal, or oats or gluten free version of graham crackers (i know, buying gf cookies to make gf cookies seems a little redundant…) because they were stinking good!! And now I’m having a vague memory that you despise coconut? So, em, you could try some other, em, kind of topping…? Okay well ANYWAY, I tried!

Leave a Reply

