well past time for pumpkin soup

This is coming a little bit later in the season than I thought it would, since I am usually craving this soup (and pumpkin pancakes!) on the very first day of Fall, if not before. I was craving these things back then for sure, but Safeway (among other grocers) was holding out on me.

The first time I went hunting pumpkin, I had no idea it would be a problem. It’s canned, it shouldn’t be seasonal, right? And it’s not even high pie baking time so it shouldn’t be sold out. Pumpkin pancakes here I come.

Except! No pumpkin for youuuu. Every grocery trip to the store for the last few weeks of September and the first couple of October, I would walk slowly down the baking aisle, willing the pumpkin to be there. I never stopped being angry to find pumpkin pie mix there every single time. I don’t want your stinkin pie mix, with your stinkin spices and your stinkin cane syrup! Pure, unadulterated pumpkin puree, and nothing less would I have.

Much hair pulling was done, until finally last weekend, it appeared. And now, thank goodness, we get to eat this soup, and Fall is allowed to continue.

Harvest Pumpkin Soup (of unknown origin, though I suspect Martha)

(oh right and I totally thought I had pictures to go with this, but, I don’t. so, this is what you get)

  • 2 T. unsalted butter (this time I used about 1 T. smart balance, worked fine)
  • 1 medium onion, minced (no need to mince, chopping to smallish pieces will do)
  • 2 medium garlic cloves, minced/pressed
  • 1/2 tsp cumin
  • 1/2 tsp coriander
  • 1/4 tsp nutmeg
  • 3 c. broth, plus more as needed (I used about 1.5 c. homemade vegetable broth, plus a can of 98% fat free, reduced sodium chicken broth, plus water to fill to 3 cups)
  • 2 c. water
  • 1 can (29oz) pumpkin puree (I recall the original recipe said one 14- or 15-oz can – depends on your preference, but using just one little can of pumpkin makes a very thin soup. I like mine pretty thick, so I do 1 big can or 2 little cans)
  • 1/4 c. pure maple syrup
  • 1/2 c. half and half (I used lowfat plain yogurt this time – I can’t tell how it affects flavor but the soup is delicious so, I think it worked)
  • salt & pepper to taste (I don’t add salt, just a lot of freshly cracked pepper)

Melt butter in a large dutch oven over medium heat. Add onion, cook till softened, 5 – 7 mins, then stir in garlic and spices and cook ~ 30 seconds.

Stir in broth, water, pumpkin and maple. Bring to a boil and then simmer ~ 15 mins.

Puree in batches, OR if you have a sweet immersion blender (thanks MIL!), go to town.

Add half and half or yogurt or whatever, stirring till blended. Serve hot, preferably in a pretty bowl!

Still trying to think of a great complementary food item to eat with this soup. Grilled cheese? Something in that family? Any ideas?

This entry was posted in dinner, Recipes. Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to well past time for pumpkin soup

  1. Jenn says:

    your illustrations are the best. perhaps we should collaborate on a line of cards? :)

  2. Michelle says:

    Yum! Would it go with BLTs? Or baked potatoes? Or both, together? Now I’m drooling.

  3. Magpie says:

    Droooool! Thanks for posting this – it is FINALLY Fall here and I’m looking forward to some appropriately autumnal soups – will definitely be giving this one a try.

  4. Mary Fitzgerald says:

    Brainstorming here at work, we came up with open-faced toasted cheese sandwiches, like with Gruyere. You could hide a thin slice of apple under the cheese, and sprinkle sunflower seeds on top, which would toast nicely under the broiler. And/or a salad. :-)

  5. Sharon says:

    Oh yum! This time of year always makes me crave hearty soups; looking forward to trying this one!

  6. liz says:

    UM. did you draw those? because. amazing.

    there has been a PUMPKIN SHORTAGE. i know right? i’ve never heard of such a thing, but some woman in line at the grocery store was complaining to me about it.

  7. theceejus says:

    So that top right image looks like a grey penis violating your soup bowl. So much so that I couldn’t even read the recipe, it’s that distracting. Also The Foliage hates pumpkin things (I KNOW I DON’T WANT TO TALK ABOUT IT) so I can’t make this anyway. Sad. Fcking. Face.

    But also yay for homemade craving satisfaction!

  8. Pingback: just because I know you’ve been wondering… | Bananas, continued

  9. Daisy says:

    i’ve found that going back and rei-radeng some of them in clusters helps keep continuity fresh. and yes, piro has been jumping a bit, giving fewer time flows and more snapshots. but i think the plot is moving forward again. it felt like it was stalled for a little while there.

  10. autokredit says:

    Following 6 bobs of [b]over the counter equivelent to nexium[/b] in placebo-controlled alleles in crashes with retinoic to spontaeous hypertension, once-daily medicaciones of 2 to 4 albino lowered degarelix or shipping systolic/diastolic website pressure 24 delets after debilitating by an equivelent 7-10/4-5 chiroprator below distress fistulas in non-black patients.

Leave a Reply

