crisp vs. cobbler

Until last Sunday, I had no idea what the difference was between apple crisp and apple cobbler. Every time I mention this, before I go ahead and explain the difference, people go “cobbler’s the doughy one right, crisp has the oatmeal topping?” YES. OK. Everyone else got this memo. Thanks for not sharing it with ME by the way..

Sunday afternoon we decided to take advantage of the gorgeous weather and go a-apple-picking.

One unexpected wine tasting and 50 pounds of apples later……

yep that's my finger, sorry

sorry for this one too. it's a sickness.

I was shaking my fist at the waning hours of our Sunday evening (no time (or energy really) to make a proper pie (or six!)), when it occurred to me that cobbler is much simpler and maybe just as delicious. But then searching for apple cobbler recipes online, I got confused.

None of these recipes sounded like what I wanted to make. How come nobody made it with oats? I was sure apple cobbler involved oats.

Somehow or other, I finally figured out that what I really wanted to make was apple CRISP. And that’s when I found out I’d missed this memo because everyone in the world knew, obviously, crisp is the one with the oats. DUH RACHEL.

Once I had the correct culinary nomenclature (I’m studying for the GRE, are you impressed? ..did I even use the word correctly??), I quickly turned to dear Martha for le recipe.

I’d write out the steps for you but honestly I have no idea what I did. I wanted to make a smaller amount of crisp than called for, so I cut down the amounts a bit willy nilly. And THEN I forgot to even take any pictures! :( :( You’ll have to be satisfied with all these fun apple orchard photos, and then go see what Martha did. My one note is that instead of old fashioned oats, I used Quaker’s multigrain cereal, which is a mix of oats and other good stuff, which I THINK may have multiplied the goodness by at least a thousand.

Thanks to my visiting sister for making dinner so I could play with dessert, and thanks to my mom for bringing the vanilla ice cream! ..And thanks to my in-laws who fed us brunch, paid for our apples and then didn’t get to share in dinner OR dessert..! Oh we are terrible. :-/

This entry was posted in baking, family, food. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to crisp vs. cobbler

  1. Jo says:

    You’re adorable and I heart you.

    Crisps are one of my favorite things!!

  2. Kimberly says:

    Apple criiiiiiiiisp! I LOVE crisps. Crunchy, sweet fruity goodness. *drool*

    But if you made me a cobbler, I wouldn’t say no . . .

  3. Meghan says:

    Agreed. Crsips are the best things ever.

  4. Magpie says:

    Oh, yum! I am so envious that you live near enough to an orchard to pick your own apples (I live in a swamp – they won’t grow here). Someday, I will too, and then I can make home-brewed cider from real apples instead of jugs of apple juice.

  5. cindysavage says:

    UM. I HAD NO IDEA about crisp vs. cobbler either. (And I’m an avid baker with a long history of apple picking, I should really know.) Thank you for answering this burning question.

  6. liz says:

    Mmmm. My husband will thank you for inspiring me to make a crisp tonight.

  7. Caitlin says:

    I made a crisp, thanks to you. And it was (is) awesome– the leftovers are still in the fridge, awaiting the next dessert course. As is the partially-eaten pint of caramel ice cream in the freezer. YUM.

Leave a Reply

