things that make you go hmm..

Sometimes I see or hear or experience something and I have this weird urge to share it with Everyone in the World. Of course I could send out a tweet or post it to facebook, but then it just gets lost in the shuffle of constant updates, and sometimes* I need a lot more attention than that. So most of the time I just sigh and let it go without sharing.

The horror.

Today I remembered I have a blog, and nobody gets to tell me what I can do with it. So if I want to post just a quote or a random picture, I can do that! And if it’s not that interesting to you, well, at least I get relief from my constant must-share-can’t-find-proper-medium spasming.

What does that mean for you? It means today you get to see this picture of one of the most random things I’ve encountered, walking my dog around my neighborhood.

Out of frame to the left is a big quirky house with a wild-looking but well-tended flower garden. I can’t tell if this chair was placed here in the dirt above a very nice stone wall, as a piece of art or a piece of trash. Or simply a place for the owner of this funny house to sit and write in her diary.. Any guesses? Any idea how old this chair is?

*ok all the time!

This entry was posted in things that make you go hmm. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to things that make you go hmm..

  1. mfitztudio says:

    What a cool chair! At least, it must have been when it was … well, not trashed. I love the built in writing table/drawer thingummy. As to its age, the decorative treatment on the legs elevates it from your run-of-the-mill homegrown concoction, I think, but it doesn’t look antiquey… I’m going to guess within the last 20 years. You should knock on the door of the funny house and ask!

    • d-day says:

      wow I was thinking more like 80 – 100 years..! maybe the photo doesn’t show the real texture of the leather-or-whatever-upholstery-that-is, seemed ancient to me in person. but it could just be something really poorly taken care of for the past 20 years..

      if the lady is ever outside when I go by I may just have to ask about it!

  2. Beth says:

    I want it. WANT IT.

  3. Magpie says:

    That is a truly weird and awesome chair. It’s kind of ugly, but the attached writing arm and drawers totally elevate it! I think you should knock on the door of the quirky house and ASK if it is for throwing away, and if they say yes — take it home!!!

  4. Heather says:

    I saw the picture and thought it was the “before” of some epic before and after project.

  5. liz says:

    that is a CRAZY chair. i agree with taking it home. it can be your chair of blogging.

  6. Caitlin says:

    it looks like it was maybe stolen from a bloodbank. perhaps one belonging to a pirate.

  7. d-day says:

    obviously I should have posted about this chair the moment I saw it! I went by it this morning and it’s no longer there.. SAD FACE.

Leave a Reply

