random food review

Every once in a while I find new things and think to myself, “Do people know about this? People should know about this.”

Corazonas Oatmeal Squares are my latest discovery. They are totally jumping on the health-food-frenzy bandwagon, with the cane sugar and the brown rice syrup – sugar is sugar. Maybe these are better than high fructose corn syrup, but not that much better in terms of how your body processes it (I’m pretty sure). Still, this Banana Walnut oatmeal square has about the same amount of sugar as a whole banana, BUT it also has all this other good stuff going for it.

I am not a nutritionist, or a scientist! I have no idea if one of these ingredients is the next thing that’s going to cause cancer! Probably that chicory root extract, the sneaky bugger.

All I’m saying is, I hate walnuts, but I like this banana walnut oatmeal square, it gets me through the mid-morning slump (if you want to be really good, you could do half of it mid-morning, half in the afternoon). The chocolate chip kind is good too, AND I like the cranberry flax ones. I’ve heard there are peanut butter ones out there somewhere, looking forward to their arrival at my local grocery store..

I should probably note they are not paying me to say any of this (if they were, I’d probably have to say really smart things instead of “deez are guuuud ok”). I just like to share.

This entry was posted in food, health. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to random food review

  1. Zan says:

    I’ve tried making something similar to this, but it was way too sweet and I couldn’t choke it down. In contrast, Hubs loved it. I think he probably ADDED sugar to his. Seems to me like when you bake these sorts of things you need a lot of sugar/sticky substance for “glue”. MMm, glue, sounds delicious!

Leave a Reply

