who’s excited..??

Ok so do you remember this story?

It’s baaaack. Can you see it? That scrunched up machine there? That thing made me drool on my mom’s head two years ago. Imagine what it’ll make me do this year?? haha.

I just went out walking with Brady and made a full walk of the perimeter of the Arlington County Fair grounds, also known as the same park where I sometimes “teach” kickboxing (sometimes should be in quotes too, we have pretty well failed at keeping a regular schedule with our classes).

Ponies! Funnel Cake! That big sphere thing someone rides a motorcycle all around! I have also heard rumors of racing piglets, though I saw no evidence of that.

The fair doesn’t open till tomorrow, was pretty cool seeing it sort of half put together like that. I’m sure I looked like a total creeper, taking pictures through the trees and whatnot, but, I had a good time!

So. Excited. I’m going to eat the crap out of some funnel cake. But NOT right before getting on that crazy spittle-throwing ride. Obviously, who would ever do that….

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to who’s excited..??

  1. Katie Jane says:

    I am so jealous! This is one thing I really miss since I moved to NYC – county fairs. Have fun!

  2. Heather says:

    Oh, I used to love going to the fair! I’be found that as I’ve gotten older the cons greatly outweigh the pros. Enjoy!

  3. mfitztudio says:

    … better knit me a ‘rain’ hat.

  4. liz says:

    FUNNEL CAAAAKE.

  5. Helen says:

    Ack. I love the fair. Ours is coming here at the end of the month. I’m so excited!!

  6. craftosaurus says:

    Is funnel cake the same thing as fried dough?

    • d-day says:

      yeah basically! it’s a southern thing, I had never heard of it before out west or up in new england. it’s like fried dough but they drop it into the hot oil through a funnel so it comes out looking a bit like a pile of worms haha. worms with powdered sugar! but it’s delicious, if you like fried dough.

  7. Jo says:

    Our fair doesn’t open til September, but I’m already counting the days. I haven’t been in years and I’m just itching for the food and the exhibits and to watch all the pre-teens ogling each other and stealing touches on rides. Okay, the last one not so much.

  8. Zan says:

    You are too funny. I’ve never been a fair person myself but I think Hubo and I are going to the big Ag County Fair this year for a date. We are such nerdballs.

    Have fun!

    • d-day says:

      I think I love it because I never went to fairs or carnivals or anything too much as a kid. so I’m making up for lost time! and actually, last time I went, I was pretty underwhelmed (except for that one ride I talked about). still I have this excitement every time it comes around again.

  9. Lynn says:

    I grew up going to the Arlington County Fair. I tended to lean on the under-impressed side with it. Great fresh-squeezed lemonade, cute pig race (yes, I have witnessed the event), and my Mom used to buy tie-dye dresses from there….Pretty dull otherwise.

Leave a Reply

