recipe: thai-inspired coconut mushroom soup

I was exploring a different Safeway from my usual one the other day several weeks ago, and found out that Some stores have a recipe rack in the produce section. Is this a thing? Do lots of grocery stores have free little recipe cards to give you some direction while you wander starving and aimless, trying to find something to make for dinner?

Well I found this recipe card and saw coconut milk, lemon grass and ginger, and I was sold. It’s basically like a Thai Tom Yum soup but I absolutely can’t vouch for its being authentic or anything. Tastes darn good though.

Prep time: 25 mins. Cook time: 35 mins. Bottom line: you’re not eating for another hour.

Ingredients per the recipe card:

  • 1 tbls canola oil
  • 1 8-oz package button mushrooms
  • 1/2 lb shiitake and/or portobello mushrooms
  • 6 c. chicken broth
  • 2 stalks lemon grass, cut into 1-inch pieces, crushed
  • 2 tbls peeled, sliced ginger root
  • 1 can light unsweetened coconut milk
  • 2 tbls fish sauce
  • 1/4 c. fresh lime (about 2 small limes, juiced)
  • 3 tbls. light brown sugar
  • 4 green onions, minced

My notes about above ingredients:

– comPLETEly forgot to buy the special mushrooms, so my soup was just button mushrooms. womp

– how do you crush pieces of lemon grass?? I wasn’t sure what this meant, so I pressed the flat side of the knife down hard on it, and then pulled out the layers that I could get a hold of.. pretty suuure that’s not what they meant?

– I got the regular coconut milk, eff that ‘light’ noise amiright (also at that safeway, the regular was cheaper)

– two small limes juiced made about exactly the right amount

– if you’re serving 8 people at once, probably chop all those green onions. if you’re just serving a couple now, you only need maybe 1 – 2 stalks, depending on how much you want sprinkled on your soup.

 Recipe Instructions:

  1. Saute mushrooms in a large skillet over high heat, 5 – 7 minutes. Set aside.
  2. Bring broth to a boil in a large saucepan; add lemon grass and ginger and reduce heat to low. Simmer 20 minutes, then add coconut milk, stirring until well blended and heated through.
  3. Stir in mushrooms, fish sauce, lime juice and brown sugar; heat 5 minutes. Remove from heat and discard lemon grass (or keep it in there if you like to chew on lemon grass – I do not).
  4. Ladle into soup bowls and serve garnished with green onions.

not the prettiest soup in the world but yummmmm

And since this handy recipe card lists it, here’s the nutrition facts for your enjoyment (though this is for LIGHT coconut milk, not sure how much extra to add for the full fat kind):

Per Serving (1/8 of recipe): 90 calories. 5g fat (3g saturated fat), 650mg sodium, 265mg potassium, 9g carbohydrates (1g fiber, 7g sugar), 3g protein.

This entry was posted in Recipes. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to recipe: thai-inspired coconut mushroom soup

  1. kindofamess says:

    Ooo, yummy. This is close to my favorite soup, Tom Kai Gai. Of course, I eat the white washed version that I found on Allrecipes, but I also still eat Ramen so you can’t expect class from me.

    • d-day says:

      haha YEAH I’m not judging, I still love ramen. Now I make myself be almost adult about it, and add edamame and/or other veggies, and drop an egg in. But I still love just plain old top ramen by itself.

  2. mfitztudio says:

    Re crushing lemon grass; yeah, that’s actually basically it, except instead of pressing hard with the knife, you lay the flat of the knife on it and then pound it with the side of your fist. The idea is just to break up the fibers a bit to release the aromatics in the grass. What you did probably worked as well, since you separated the leaves a bit.

    The soup sounds delicious, and I’m right there with you on the coconut milk. Coconut is a fruit, so I figure how fat can it be?

    Aaand, time for True Confessions… I didn’t know until like 2 months ago that ramen is reallyy bad for you. I mean, yuh, I get the salt issue, but totally had no idea about the fried noodle thing. Huh. It’s not stopping me, but hard to believe I’ve been on the planet this long without hearing about this sooner. :-/

    • d-day says:

      oh awesome! I did it right kinda! thanks :)
      also, coconut milk has a lot of fat actually! I knew it had a lot, but just looked it up, and after reading this, I may switched to the lite version, holy moly:

      One cup of coconut milk, approximately 240g of liquid, contains 552 calories, with 479 of those calories coming from fat. The extremely high calorie level and the high level of fat makes coconut milk appropriate only for occasional indulgence. Of the 57g of fat included in coconut milk, 51g are saturated fat, which is 254 percent of the recommended daily allowance of saturated fat. It also contains 626mg of the essential fatty acid omega-6. Reduced fat versions of coconut milk are available in which some of the saturated fat is removed.

      Read more: http://www.livestrong.com/article/113703-coconut-milk-nutrition-information/#ixzz1RLYOpZoR

  3. Sharon says:

    Oh man, this looks delicious. The Thai place down the street from us makes a killer coconut soup (doubly dangerous because it’s cheap!). This post makes me want to try my hand at homemade!

Leave a Reply

