100. push-ups. challenge.

I’ve been hearing about this challenge from multiple sources lately, thought it was about time to give it a go. And my friend Amber is doing it with me! Bonus.

Amber and me (aka Team AWESOME.), post-marathon 2006

If you complete the challenge and do the 100, you get a really sweet badge for your blog. I rilly want that badge…… But I’m not going to beat myself up if I don’t make it that far. Honestly I will be pretty excited to get to 10.

The 100 Pushups site walks you through the whole process, so I’m not going to write it all out here. First thing you do is find out how seriously weak your arms are (or is that just me), and then you follow the weekly instructions for building up to more and more push-ups. There’s an app for iPhone and Android, but it’s not free! I don’t want to put paid apps on my work phone, so I’m not using it. I’ve heard it’s useful though.

Last Sunday I decided to try seeing how many unmodifieds I could do – I had challenged zp to a contest of “who can do the LEAST number of pushups.” Naturally I won the top prize, managing only 1 pushup. He failed MISERABLY, with like 15. pathetic.

…somehow I’ve got to come up with a way to not say “push-ups” a billion times in one post. PUs is kind of awk and makes me think of a bad smell. hum. …

Well today I decided to officially start Week 1. I had kickboxing this morning so I guess my arms were nice and primed, because this afternoon I just did the complete Week 1/Day 1 workout. Well, I managed to screw it up a little because I can’t READ or something, but basically I did it. Instead of reps of 2-3-2-2-3, I did 2-2-3-2-3. I couldn’t believe I could actually do 3 push-ups! Okay full disclosure, my form on that 3rd one was probably not perfectly perfect.. and the last two reps, of 2 and then 3, were mayyybe not as low as the first reps. But they were not totally crap push-ups, they were pretty good. So they totally count.

Weee! Anyone else in the midst of this challenge, or want to start it up with us? Am I boring the crap out of you yet with my fitness talk?? :) If you want I could go into a detailed report of my calorie count for the day.. I mean I could do that. For you.

This entry was posted in 100 pushups challenge, fitness. Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to 100. push-ups. challenge.

  1. Jenn says:

    Brandon and I started to do this and then basically forgot to keep going. But we could work it into kickboxing class? And then I would only have to remember to do it on my own once a week?

  2. d-day says:

    yes! great idea!

  3. andee says:

    I saw the 100 push up challenge on your blog a couple of days ago so I checked it out. It looks awesome! I want to do it in conjunction with the c25k I’m doing. Yea! Thanks for the inspiration.

  4. Sarah says:

    I’m gonna try to do it too! For me the biggest challenge will be to remember to keep up with it. Initial test = 6 push-ups. Week 1, day 1: 6, 6, 4, 4, 15…but I have to confess my lower back was feeling weird today, like one wrong move would stress something, so I did knee push-ups for all but the first rep.

  5. liz says:

    my husband and i have been talking about starting this for weeeeks.

  6. Sarah says:

    So I’m thinking of doing this as a little cross training while I train for my race. Because let’s be honest …. no amount of Zumba is going to help me get my arms in shape.

  7. Pingback: my lovely students (kapow!) | Bananas, continued

  8. Pingback: 100 Push-ups Challenge: Week 2 or something | Bananas, continued

  9. Pingback: streaking, day one | Bananas, continued

Leave a Reply

