the jane eyre challenge

So you may not know this about me, but Jane Eyre is my favorite book…. ever. I’ve read it a billion times and it totally got me through my teenage years.

image via goodreads.com

Now there’s a movie out and I’m pretty excited about it. If you’ve seen it already (because I know this has to be at the top of everyone’s list right?? ha), plz don’t even let me know. I don’t even want to hear an “it was good!” or anything. Many people think they can talk about a movie in a clever enough way that they won’t “give anything away,” but that never works. My favorite way to see a movie is having almost no idea what the plot is or even who’s in it, because I like surprises. Not that I can escape knowing the plot of this movie.. Still if I can avoid any kind of reviews till I can see it,* I’ll be happy.

ANYway, Good Reads, being awesome per usual, has set up a Jane Eyre Challenge. You read the book, watch the movie, take the Jane Eyre Quiz (whatever that is).. and then I don’t know what the point of it is or if you get a gold star for acing the quiz or what. But I’m gonna do it! And if you love JE as much as I do (or if you’ve never read it??), you should do it too.

Apparently it started a while ago, there’s only 15 days left to complete it. I’m gonna go start the re-read.. You wanna sign up and nerd out with me? :)

Doooo it.

 

*already have a hawt date with my two moms to see it next weekend. weee!

This entry was posted in nerd alert. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to the jane eyre challenge

  1. Ceej says:

    I think you’re probably the only person I’ve ever met who says this book got them through something. The only thing this book could get me through is a suicide, maybe. A really slow one.

  2. Kerry says:

    I’ve been psyched to see this movie ever since I saw the preview a while back. Didn’t care much for the book though, but I might have read it a little too early, before I could appreciate the story. Maybe it’s time to try again.

  3. d-day says:

    hahah I probably should have also mentioned that I was kind of a broody teenager and for some reason really loved slow-moving english lit. ha.

  4. meghan says:

    I need to re-read I suppose because I remember very little…

  5. Jo says:

    I’ve never actually read Jane Eyre. For a book-ish person, this is a horrible thing to admit. I accept!

  6. mfitztudio says:

    Since I’m going to be seeing this with you, YES, I want to accept the challenge! *gulp!* That means I have a little over a week to read the book. Did you say you have a spare copy? :)

  7. Em says:

    It’s interesting that you prefer to go into a movie knowing absolutely nothing about it. My fiance and I are the exact opposite to that- we like to know the basic plot at least (no spoilers, of course) before we see it, or I think we sit there waiting for it to ‘get to the point’.. or something. I don’t know. Weird thing!

  8. irisira says:

    I’ve never read Jane Eyre. I know … I KNOOOOOW. But I have read all of the books in Jasper Fforde’s Thursday Next series (I’m almost done with the newest one now), and my half-assed book club (it’s not on a formal schedule and it’s more about drinking wine and eating cheese than reading books) wants to read it. I got it for free on the Kindle and was going to read it as soon as I finish my Thursday Next book.

  9. Zan says:

    saw the movie. It was AWESOME. I cried. Uhm … more than once. Damn you for living in Arlington, I would totally go see it again with you.

Leave a Reply

