anniversary week!

So, since our anniversary is coming up, I think I might just be nauseating this week leading up to it, and share some things about how we met and got together and whatnot. Oh don’t worry, I’m not going to get too mushy, there’s just going to be a bunch of pictures and Paint drawings. weee!

The courtship.

I had a boyfriend. New temp at work made me do a double-take, in a this-guy-is-gonna-be-important kind of way. When I stupidly came to work with a fever, he brought me soup (so what if my mothering co-worker asked him to do it and even gave him money for it; he put it into my hands and said, “you should probably go home..?”). Before his temp stint ended, I told him he was being adopted into my group of friends whether he liked it or not. He liked it.

First time I invited him to hang out, was when a kinda-sorta ex-boyfriend of mine was randomly in town and I decided it would be a really good idea to get him together with my then-boyfriend and some of my friends, to go out on the town in DC. I really, really, REALLY wish I could share some of the pictures from that night, but they are mostly all of us looking sweaty and drunkenly dancing, and my then-bf looking pissed. This picture below is blurry enough that nobody should mind that I’m sharing it (right?).. zp is just like “well this is the weirdest night of my life,” and you can probably guess the grumpy guy in the foreground is the then-bf.* The past-ex is out of the frame and he’s probably glad.

how often do you think it happens that a person is in the same room with their past, present and future boyfriends?

Fast-forward a few months, boyfriend and I “went on a break” (the plan: see other people for 3 months, get back together. seemed so logical at the time). At first zp was all “aww I’m sorry friend. I’m here for you!” and then a few weeks later he was all, “to heck with that guy, date me!” And I did.

this was a couple hours before the "heck with that guy" moment

So then I had to very awkwardly break up with someone who had sorta-kinda already broken up with me but wanted to get back together. I do not recommend anyone put themselves into this situation.

I do recommend secretly dating someone for a few weeks though. This picture is from the day Zach sprained his ankle playing badminton with my friends, and even though he could barely walk he came with us to hike at Great Falls. Nobody knew we were secretly holding hands when they weren’t looking! Sorry frnds!

you might think "duh of course they're dating" but I was not the only one to carry him around on my back that day! My friends are very supportive. Heh.

Fast-forward a few more months, I make him meet my whole family at a bbq celebrating my sisters and their graduate degrees (well one graduate degree, one transition to a doctoral program – either way it’s obvious my sisters stole all the brains in our gene pool).

I will avoid the mushy explanation of this drawing I did, below, of a moment we had on the beach during that trip. You can read into it what you will.

york harbor beach - yay maine!

I’ll give you a hint. In our heads it was more like this.

Up next: how to win a guy in 10 Paint pictures. (not really. but there will be lots of Paint pictures)

*this poor guy. please don’t make fun of him! I dated him for 2 years and he was nice. he just had a bad day (and umm, I put him in a really awk situation haha).

This entry was posted in anniversary week. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to anniversary week!

  1. meghan says:

    I love these kind of stories. And you two are adorable together.

  2. ElizMarWilli says:

    Dood. I just realized recently that I had had a past, present and future moment too! Our Halloween party that first year at Bucknell. DK, AB and GM were all there!! I don’t think I was actually dating any of them at the time, but AB came soon thereafter….. WEIRD. Anyway. love this post! :) And I wouldn’t even mind seeing those awfully sweaty photos again. ;)

    • d-day says:

      hahah awesome! I didn’t realize that either. also are you suuuuure you want those pics dusted off? pretty sure you hated when they debuted on facebook (I think they are still up actually but not tagged).. ;)

  3. Caitlin says:

    yay! mushy stories are awesome. and you tell a great story, whatever the topic. i can’t wait to hear the rest of this one :) plus, your paint pictures rock my socks off. i especially love the last one!

  4. mfitztudio says:

    I agree with Caitlin – you are a Master Storyteller (Mistress Storyteller? Er, that just sounds baaad), and your illustrations are fabulous! The rainy beach one is lovely and sweet, and I LERV the rainbows and hearts one! Too freaking adorable, just like the two of youse guys.

  5. Jo says:

    Yippppeeeee! Made my day. :)

    a) I’ve had a paast, past, present moment. On a tie-your-innertubes-together-float-down-the-river-for-three-hours situation. AWFUL. Do not recommend. Do recommend secretly dating, it’s great! And also agree that the having to re-breakup with someone is horrible.

    b) you guys are adorable.

  6. d-day says:

    heee thanks you guys! :) :)

  7. lizzie says:

    fantastic story. :)
    you guys are too cute together!
    i’ve had the past/present/future moment as well…it’s BIZARRE, they weren’t even friends or anything…

  8. Sarah says:

    The closest I have come to a past-present-future moment was when my ex and Tony ended up at a kid’s event together. Boy, that was not uncomfortable AT ALL.

    I love these stories. I tell so many of them that it is a treat to read other people’s stories for a change (also, you guys are ridiculously cute and it’s hard to believe that no one guessed you were secretly dating).

Leave a Reply

