another step in the right direction

Just signed up for Psych 202 at the local community college. One more step closer to grad school!

I had a sort of epiphany last summer about myself. I like counseling people. I like reading between their lines and finding out what really drives them to do what they do. And I like trying to figure out the best way to get them to do what they need to do for themselves. In September I decided I wanted to go back to school to become a professional counselor, and immediately I felt lighter.

My meaningless job has an expiration date, there’s something else for me in the future. I didn’t realize how miserable my lack of direction was making me, until I found one.

Since I didn’t really take any classes in college related to counseling (Psych 100 doesn’t really count for much), I’ve been trying to work on getting some pre-reqs out of the way, since I can’t feasibly start grad school till Stinky is at least mostly done with his program. So last semester I took Psych 201, and finished first in my class (not saying much considering the pool but I’ll take it). I’m not crazy about my professor’s style but he’s the only one who teaches the Saturday class so I’m taking him again for 202. If he finds a way to bring up abortion again, I might actually throttle him..

This entry was posted in career, school. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to another step in the right direction

  1. kahlia says:

    <>
    So maybe “But don’t it always seem to go / that you don’t know what you’ve got till it’s gone” applies in reverse? Interesting.

    My little sister is the most passionate person I know, and one of her favorite quotes is: “Don’t ask yourself what the world needs. Ask yourself what makes you come alive and then go do that. Because what the world needs is people who have come alive.”
    – Howard Thurman
    Glad you’ve (probably) found your calling!

  2. Jo says:

    That’s what I’m doing grad school for, except I’m going roundabout way, and getting my MSW. Then I’ll go for the LCSW and move on from there.

    I’m excited! The world needs more humorous counselors.

    • d-day says:

      COOL. I thought I had seen you mention that before. help me, what does LCSW stand for? well I can figure out the SW, what’s the LC? how far along are you in the program/how much longer before you’re done?

      • Jo says:

        Licensed Clinical Social Worker. I’m only doing grad school part time so I have another 2.5-3.5 years, then I have to practice for 2 years after that (and pass two big tests) before I can be an LCSW. It’s a weird way to come at it, but much more common because it is more versatile than some other counseling degrees.

Leave a Reply

