more on this now

Yesterday, a few things happened.

First, I found out I am not, in fact, allergic to gluten. [applause] Turns out, I have some kind of inflammatory bowel disease [applause..?], henceforth to be strictly referred to as IBD, because the word bowel just makes me frown in a sickly way. I probably should have just kept quiet on my whole medical adventure because now, since I’ve already TMI’d the hell out of you all, I feel somehow compelled to keep doing it. You all thought I was maybe allergic to gluten, I can’t let you go on thinking that! You must know the truth! But now I have to say the word bowel to you, and for that I apologize. I’m probably going to continue to talk about this in future posts because I still don’t know what kind of IBD it is or what the treatment will be. I may spareĀ  you the details of treatment.. I can do that much at least.

The second thing that happened is way more awesome, I don’t have to say the word bowel at all in order to explain it to you. MEG’S BOOK MADE IT TO #29 ON AMAZON’S TOP 100 BEST SELLERS. I’m sorry to shout but that is just fracking mind-blowing and awesome! YAY MEG. YAY TEAM PRACTICAL. ahem.

And the third thing that happened! Also amazing. Zach finished student teaching last week, and finishes grad school comPLETEly next week [super applause!!], and even though he’s not quite done yet, his parents wanted to take us out to celebrate. At dinner, they gave us this.

They had already asked us if we’d like one for Christmas, so it wasn’t exactly a fall-out-of-my-chair surprise. BUT. It’s still AMAZING (see this post for Exhibit A). We are still a bit in shock over it; this morning I found myself sitting there with it on my lap just staring at it, like, we have one of these? What? So. THANK YOU MIL & FIL.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to more on this now

  1. meghan says:

    Congrats to Zach and sorry about the b*wels.

  2. Sharon says:

    Congratulations to you both! (To Zach for finishing grad school – HUGE! – and you for enduring the life of a grad school spouse – even HUGER!)

  3. craftosaurus says:

    Yay for Zach!

    And YAY for still being able to eat gluten!

  4. pinchofthis says:

    So much GOOD NEWS in your house!!

  5. Amanda says:

    Congratulations ! Zach, that is a great deal :) and I think you are both able to breath more freely now, one thing less to “worry” about. I am glad you are not allergic to gluten… and I hope they will be able to manage/ cure and find the reason for your IBD, and most of all that you will feel better.
    Sometimes I feel like we are living parallel realities, with the -…scopies AND the fact that we also just got a tablet from Mother in law, a Christmas + the boy’s birthday present. And my brother in law just graduated from his master as well last Friday. Feel better. And enjoy Vegas (can not advice on how to walk with heels, except maybe trying those gel pads that you put inside your heels ? I tried some and they make my feet feel better but haven’t tested them for a full partying night or walking. Maybe it is smarter like someone said to carry an extra pair of ballerinas in your purse…

    http://www.schollpartyfeet.com.au/products/gel-cushions

  6. Andy says:

    Why is Zach not sitting in that high chair in the back.

Leave a Reply

