on the farm. or, how zan became my hero

OK this subject line is a total lie, Zan has been my hero since forever. And having her over for brunch a couple months ago confirmed that she is awesome, and also taught me that she thinks she has an internal homing device programmed to direct her to the nearest grocery store (read: she totally got lost trying to find a grocery store near my apartment by pure instinct; the best part was her explaining this to me over the phone. hilARious (in her defense there was totally a bike race going on near my neighborhood, which actually was the only reason she couldn’t reach the grocery store she assumed rightly was in that direction).). ..That’s right I nest my parentheticals.

So I knew visiting Zan on her farm on the way back from Maine was going to be awesome. I mean I thought I would get to hang out with Zan, see some livestock, and meet the Cowboy – that was pretty much all I could have hoped for.

But you guys. Ahhh!

My tour of the Cowboysaurus farm included collecting my own eggs from the chicken coup (which I kind of forgot to take home? but whatever), petting a sheep (and hearing the most ridiculous screeching-excitement sound come out of my dog, apparently he found his roots as a shepherd), learning the secret husband whistle (the husband isn’t the secret, the whistle’s the secret – and, it’s not really a secret), not just meeting but having Lunch with the Cowboy, a lunch made by Zan with farm grown vegetables and homemade bread.

And I met a bunch of chickens, inCLUDing the one I named after a long-lost chicken we had in our family, Lauren BaCAW?! (Mom this one’s for you). I think she’s the one all the way to the left in this photo:

Brady mayyy have tried to EAT one of them.. Zan assures me she found no dead chickens after his Great Chicken Killing Rampage of 2011, but there was an awful lot of squawking…

Oh and she totally sent me home with a box of veggies, and MEAT. from the farm. AND there’s one more thing, a bonus amazing thing that she just shared on her blog–!. I may be the only one to see it and clap my hands with joy but I think you’re gonna like it too.

In short: let’s all go visit Zan. And if you’re not married yet, get married on her farm. It’s been done, beautifully, and needs to happen a whole lot more.

Yeah this post is a bit out of order, probably more pics of actual time in MAINE coming soon.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to on the farm. or, how zan became my hero

  1. HELL YES nested parentheses! I do this. Frequently.

  2. Michelle says:

    Ahhh awesome! Annndd, +1 nested parentheses. Also I love that in both your and Zan’s posts you apologize to each other for your respective animals kind of maybe trying to eat each other. Sounds like a good time was had by all!

  3. Jo says:

    Love! So glad you had a great time, but there was no way you couldn’t, hmm? ;)

  4. Kerry says:

    Bloggy love at its finest. You girls are cute.

  5. Helen says:

    That’s awesome. What a beautiful place! (And ps., I nest my parentheses too. :D)

  6. Meghan says:

    FARM LIFE, I love it.

  7. Amanda says:

    Hahaha yeah. I saw it and clapped my hands ! So jealous of fun in the farm ! Your dog must have been so happy :)

  8. Caitlin says:

    Now I want to visit Zan even more than I already did!!!!

  9. Pingback: just because I know you’ve been wondering… | Bananas, continued

Leave a Reply

